Celtic Frost

Celtic Frost
Formed : 1984 // Birchwil, Zurich, Switzerland
Disbanded : 1992 // Zurich, Switzerland
Resurrected : 2006 // Zurich, Switzerland
Disbanded : 2008 // Zurich, Switzerland

Born out of the ashes of Hellhammer in June 1984, Celtic Frost was started by Tom G. Warrior (aka Thomas G. Fischer, Vocals/Guitar) and Martin Eric Ain (Bass). Never ones to keep treading the same ground for long, the band progressed from proto-black metal ("Morbid Tales") to incorporating more classical influences ("To Mega Therion") and then displaying a more avant-garde streak ("Into The Pandemonium"). In 1988, Warrior fronted a new line up (drummer Stephen Priestly, who played on "Morbid Tales" was the only member besides Warrior to have any previous connect to the band) for "Cold Lake". Criticized as "glam metal" by many of the group's fans, the band's credibility took a huge hit. Blame was later assigned to guitarist Oliver Amberg, who composed much of the album in place of an allegedly uninterested Tom G. Warrior. Martin Eric Ain returned for 1990's "Vanity/Nemesis", but the group folded shortly after.

In the early 2000's, Warrior (now calling himself Thomas G. Fischer) and Ain regrouped with guitarist Erol Unala and drummer Franco Sesa. Fischer and Ain also revived the Prowling Death Records imprint, which had previously been used to issue the Hellhammer demos. Prowling Death would issue the group's new recordings by licensing them through Century Media, starting with 2006's "Monotheist" (although the Prowling Death imprint is not featured on the release). Erol Unala left the group shortly after the release of "Monotheist".

Although there were plans to follow up "Monotheist", Thomas G. Fischer announced his departure from Celtic Frost in April 2008, citing "the irresolvable, severe erosion of the personal basis so urgently required to collaborate within a band so unique, volatile, and ambitious", although he later stated that his friendship with Ain was still intact.

On September 9, 2008, Martin Eric Ain and Tom G. Fischer announced the definite end of Celtic Frost via the band's official homepage.

Final Lineup (2008)

* Tom Gabriel Fischer – vocals, guitars, programming (1984–2008)
* Martin Eric Ain – bass guitar, vocals (1984–2008)
* Franco Sesa – drums, percussion (2001–2008)
* V Santura – guitar (live, 2007–2008)

Previous members

* Ron Marks – guitar (1987)
* Oliver Amberg – guitar (1988–1989)
* Stephen Priestly – drums, percussion (1984, 1988–1992)
* Reed St. Mark – drums, percussion (1985–1988, 1992–1993)
* Curt Victor Bryant – guitar (1989–1993)
* Erol Unala – guitar (live, 2001–2006)
* Anders Odden – guitar (live, 2006–2007)

Sorteer op:
Totaal 23 Items
Box Set, 5xCD – Noise
LP, 12" – Noise
CD – Century Media
CD –
CD – Noise
2xCD – Noise
CD – Noise
CD – Noise
(0) Items
Items 0
Subtotaal €0,00
To Top